• Printer Friendly Version
  • Decrease Text Size Increase Text Size
  • PDF

Trey Hendrickson and Eli McGuire awarded Most Valuable Player

Eli McGuire

Florida Atlantic’s Trey Hendrickson and Louisiana Lafayette’s Eli McGuire turn in highlight performances in East-West Shrine Game

In a defensive affair that ended with the West all-stars beating the East squad 10-3, there were two individual performances that stood above the rest.

The E. Jack Spaulding Award for Most Outstanding Defensive Player was awarded to defensive end Trey Hendrickson (Florida Atlantic). Hendrickson, playing for the East all-stars, registered a quarterback sack, a forced fumble and a quarterback hurry in a game full of defensive highlights from both teams.

West running back Eli McGuire (Louisiana Lafayette) piled up 42 yards rushing on just 7 carries, including a dramatic 18-yard scamper that resulted in the game’s only touchdown, earning The William H. Coffman Award for Most Outstanding Offensive Player.

The game was played in front of a crowd of 22,198 inside Tropicana Field and was broadcast nationally on the NFL Network.

About the Most Outstanding Player Award Namesakes: E. Jack Spaulding was a captain in the U.S. Navy and was one of the organizers of the first East-West Shrine Game.  William H. Coffman was the managing director of the East-West Shrine Game for 40 years.

Pictured: Most Outstanding Offensive Player, Eli McGuire